Text/HTML Minimize

Local Attractions
Beloit
 
Beloit’s minor league baseball games are a fun afternoon activity that the whole family can enjoy together. For tickets and other information please visit: http://www.snappersbaseball.com/
 
A not-for-profit organization emphasizing angels as symbols for what is joyful, noble and good in this life. It refrains from promoting religion or a theology of angels. The mission of The Angle Museum is to promote a unique and personal experience that stimulates and enriches the human spirit. Visitors are invited to enjoy and experience goodness anytime they visit The Angel.
 
As a teaching museum, the mission of the Wright Museum of Art advances the educational goals of Beloit College. Our principal purpose is to provide the college and local community with diverse opportunities to appreciate, interact with, and understand the visual arts through exhibitions, collections, and programming. The Wright promotes experiential learning through an engagement with art that is both visual and tactile. It also endeavors to promote a critical reading of art as it shapes our cultural and intellectual history. For more information visit: http://www.beloit.edu/wright/
 
Bring a picnic lunch and sip lemonade by the ‘old mill stream’ after you tour Beckman Mill. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Beckman Mill is one of Wisconsin’s only restored, working gristmills. Built in 1868, the mill has been restored to how it looked and operated in its hay days of the 1920’s. The Creamery serves as the visitor center & gift shop where fresh ground corn meal
 
One visit to the Beloit Historical Society Lincoln Center allows you to immerse yourself in Beloit area history through changing exhibits at the Solem Museum. You can pay homage to Beloit athletes in the Ted Perring Sports Hall of Fame and visit the Arthur Missner Veterans Gallery. The Historical Society also sponsors numerous programs, events and workshops throughout the year.
 
Step back in time and view how life was in the Mid-1800’s in this artfully restored 1857 Victorian homestead, barn, and 1873 one-room schoolhouse. Fine period furnishings and a newly restored kitchen show how ‘the upper middle class’ lived at the turn of the century. In the fall, Heritage Days offer a full weekend of fun.
 
History comes alive in the newly restored 1850’s Bushnell Wheeler House situated high on the bluffs overlooking South Beloit and Beloit. The South Beloit Historical Society makes its home here and has lovingly reclaimed the beauty of this historic Italian Vila and its sloping grounds. Group tours are welcome by appointment. Be sure to visit the artfully decorated house during the holidays and then return to enjoy homemade ice-cream on the lawns during the annual Summer Social. Call for specific event information.
 
There are many reasons to walk a labyrinth. Some walk it as an excuse to get outside, while others use it when wrangling with a difficult problem. Labyrinth walking is also said to integrate the left and right sides of the brain. "It helps people access their creativity," said Beloit Labyrinth designer Loris Damerow.  There are some, however, who believe that the labyrinth's purpose is to not have a purpose at all. "You are walking it for the process rather than the destination," said Karen Dodson, a licensed acupuncturist in Beloit who hosts the Beloit Labyrinth at her business. Come find out for yourself the benefits of walking a labyrinth at the seven-circle Beloit Labyrinth. The paths of the labyrinth are wide enough for a walker and there are no stairs. The field is flat, but the grass may be uneven.
 
Just a 20-minute drive from Beloit! Staller Estate produces only grape wines from winter hardy varietals, which are unique to the region. They produce their wines from grapes grown in their vineyard near Whitewater Lake as well as from other growers in the region. They are also expanding their vineyard at the winery. Staller Estate has currently released five of their wines and plans to release four more wines in the coming months.
 
 
 
** To see a list of local festivals held in Beloit, please visit http://www.visitbeloit.com/Explore/SeasonalEvents/tabid/374/Default.aspx
Edgerton
Sterling North Museum
The boyhood Home and Museum of Sterling North, world renowned editor and author of Rascal, So Dear to my Heart, The Wolfing, and 28 other books plus poetry, opens April 5 - Sunday afternoons from 1:00 to 4:30 PM - through December 20 or by appointment. The home has been restored to its 1917 setting and is furnished with authentic antiques. The museum houses North's desk and typewriter and many family artifacts, photos, books and memorabilia. A restored barn and the grounds are part of the tour.
**To see local Festivals Held in Edgerton Wisconsin please visit http://www.edgertonchamber.org/calendar.htm
Fort Atkinson
A local history museum with many interesting stories to share, the Hoard Historical Museum is like no other.  Here you’ll find out about Sauk warrior, Black Hawk, and the 1832 Black Hawk War.  Discover what kind of soldier young Abraham Lincoln was and learn how “Fort Atkinson” came to be.  Explore the contributions of two locals of whom we’re very proud: William Dempster Hoard, the father of the Wisconsin dairy industry; and Lorine Niedecker, world famous poet.  In between all this, you’ll see amazing collections of artifacts, artwork, and much more.  The museum's new permanent exhibit, Mysteries of the Mounds, is now open for viewing.
 
An antique mega mall located on Main Street in Fort Atkinson.
 
This facility includes twenty mustang horses for trail riding along with year round hayrides and buggy rides. Also offers seasonal sleigh rides for 50 people.
 
The Fireside Dinner Theatre is one of the Midwest's most popular entertainment destinations and the only Actor’s Equity dinner theatre in Wisconsin. The Klopcic family is proud to celebrate 46 years of hospitality in charming, historic Fort Atkinson. The Fireside Dinner Theatre, a favorite destination for couples, families and tour groups alike offers a variety of things to do.
Janesville
Established in 1857, the Lincoln Tallman House is Janesville’s award-winning historic house museum. Tour this Italian villa style mansion where Abraham Lincoln was a guest in 1859.
 
A 20-acre non-profit botanic garden is home to many dramatic and themed gardens. Some have an international focus, such as the Japanese, Scottish, French Formal, Italian and English Cottage Gardens. Also included are less formally-structured gardens including one of very few Fern and Moss gardens recognized by the Hardy Fern Foundation in the United States, as well as shade, Prairie and Woodland Gardens. On-site are also a visitor center, gift shop and a beautiful facility that may be rented for wedding receptions, reunions, meetings, etc.
  
 
The exterior of the Janesville Armory was preserved to retain its historical significance, while the interior combines modern decor and elegance with original elements, making the Armory the area’s most exciting entertainment and dining venue. The Armory offers three distinct dining experiences: the Drill Hall Theater, the Bunker Lounge, and the Lieutenants Restaurant. Visit us at 10 S. High St., Janesville, WI or call (608) 741-7400 for more information.
 
 
 
A North American Hockey League team located in Janesville, WI, the Janesville Jets provide excitement and entertainment for the whole family. For ticket and season information please visit:
 
 
 
The performing arts community in Janesville finally has a place to call home!! Janesville Performing Arts Center's unique setting lends it character. It is the site of the original Janesville High School, which opened in 1923. The Auditorium is full of wonderful examples of 1920s architecture. From the Prairie Style stained glass and ornate plaster molding to the original massive light fixtures, the Center is a wonderful space to sit back and enjoy a performing arts event. Well known for its tremendous acoustics, the Center has been upgraded with lighting and sound equipment that enhance the natural acoustic sound. The theatre offers a wide variety of wonderful shows and performances. Features Include: 637 seat auditorium, lighting and sound equipment, natural acoustics, and an ornate stage.
 
 
We perform twice weekly water ski shows from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day weekend. We use our shows as a platform for teaching safe boating and water skiing techniques to members and the general public. Admission to a Rock Aqua Jays water ski show is always free, making our organization one of the last remaining free entertainment attractions in our community. We are proud to call Janesville, Wisconsin our home, and privileged to be able to perform on the Rock River at Traxler Park where we've been since starting in 1961. Our membership consists primarily of teenagers and young adults. None of our members are paid. In fact, all of our members are volunteers and pay dues to belong to our organization.
 
As the oldest 4-H fair in the United States, the Rock County 4-H Fair in Janesville, WI has plenty to offer each and every visitor. From the numerous animals to the carnival and every unique exhibit in between, the Rock County 4-H Fair allows visitors one special week a year to experience the many projects and to learn from the county’s youth.
 
More than 12,000 years ago, an immense flow of glacial ice sculpted a landscape of remarkable beauty across Wisconsin. As the colossal glacier retreated, it left behind a variety of unique landscape features. These Ice Age remnants are now considered among the world’s finest examples of how continental glaciations sculpt our planet. The Ice Age National Scenic Trail is a thousand-mile footpath-entirely within Wisconsin- that highlights these Ice Age landscape features while providing access to some of the states most beautiful natural areas.
 

Janesville’s speakeasy

The Speakeasy is located on the west side of downtown Janesville in a building once known as the Bennison & Lane Baking Co. who was a producer of commercially baked products distributed to area grocery stores.  The building dates back to 1899 and according to family notes, started out as Eureka Baking Co.  Although the company focused on commercial business many local residents today recall the day old bakery and the warm and inviting smell of the fresh baked bread. Over the years the building became the home to many other businesses, Decker Manufacturing, Insurance and banking offices, and Mulrooney Moving and Storage.   The building was vacant for many years and was close to being declared condemned. Today, The Speakeasy is an established downtown restaurant and the host of many family and business events. Over 20 couples have said “I do” and we can’t even count how many rings, gifts or cards have been exchanged over the dinner table here. But one thing is for sure, people love the speakeasy not only for its great atmosphere but also for its traditional American fare. 

Milton
This is Milton’s premier antique shop located in a former dormitory for the Milton College. Inside there are antiques provided by the owner, Terry Williamson, and by local venders around Milton. Come and enjoy the historic atmosphere of this building while you shop for antiques. This establishment is located at 501College St. and the phone number is 868-3651.
 
Lillian’s is a chain of unique boutiques located across the country. They were started by two sisters who left well paying corporate jobs to open these small shops. These sisters never did choose to walk before they ran. Some would say they were crazy when they had this idea of opening a really hip and chic Shoppe for women - where Shoppe’s are only open four days a month and yet still provide and promise every woman that walks through their doors the shopping experience of a lifetime. This business is located within the Old Junction Mill 613 W Milton Ave. For more information and schedules please call 608-8681117
 
Recently declared a nationally acclaimed museum, the Milton House is Milton’s claim to fame! Joseph Goodrich and his family was one of the first people to build a building that was made out of grout. It was originally an inn for tired passersby’s where they could stay for the night and board their horses there as well. During the Civil War, the building was a part of the Underground Railroad and the remains of a hidden passageway from the main building to the family cabin still remains today. To find out more information please call 608-868-1698. The museum is located on 18 S. Janesville St. in Milton.
 
This building was originally a grain wearhouse built in the fashion that Joseph Goodrich’s buildings.   Since it has been built, the grain wearhouse has held many businesses and is rumored to have held a blacksmith shop. The additional recorded businesses were Place Garage and the Sunnyview Orchard. In 2007, construction of an addition and restoration of the building began in order to become the home of Northelaf Winery, which officially opened in 2009. Come and enjoy wine tastings and music in this quaint and historic building.  This building is located at 232 S. Janesville St in Milton, and you can reach the business at 608-580-0575. 
 
Since May of 2008, Patty’s Plants has been open to the public as a natural and organic garden supply store. Patty mixes the old with the new with her building being a 1800’s cream city brick home. She has created an old general store atmosphere and Re-purposing vintage pots or any item that can be drilled into for drainage all makes for a creative container gardens at Patty’s. This business is located at 220 S, Janesville St. in Milton next to Northleaf Winery. To contact Patty, please call 608-580-0066.
 
Come and visit this beautifully renovated 150 year old feed mill in historic Milton, Wisconsin. The building was once home to a feed mill, and was recently transformed to hold three businesses within the building. Included are Red Rooster unique gifts, Peddlers Loft and a basement full of unique crafts and antiques. For more information please call 608-868-5555. This business is located at 613 W Madison Ave in Milton. 
Whitewater
Imagine: you can soar aloft for hours at a time by riding the same air currents as seagulls, hawks and eagles. Hang gliding flight appeals to people of all ages and from all walks of life. It’s fairly easy and inexpensive. It doesn’t require much strength or stamina. Participants have often described it as “dream like’ “floating” and even “stress releasing”. Hang gliders are silent machines because they don’t need engines in order to fly. They fly instead on the energies of gravity and the wind.
 
The Young Auditorium is part of the UW-Whitewater Campus and offers a wide array of entertainment throughout the school year. For more information on the upcoming season or for past seasons please visit http://www.uww.edu/youngauditorium/index.html
 
Effigy Mounds Park
Take a historic walking tour and explore the unique effigy mound park believed to have been constructed between 200 and 1200 AD. Effigy Mounds Park, also known as the Maples Mound Group, is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The park is a prehistoric, Native American ceremonial and burial site that dates back to approximately 1000 AD, and has one of the most diverse and unusual collections of animal and geometric mounds in the nation. On the eastern bank of the stream, and among the native oaks, there once stood a Native American village of 30 circular huts. Today the history of this village is still evident with the remains of 12 effigy mounds. The site continues to be used for Native American fasts and fire burning ceremonies. Effigy Mounds Park is open to the public daily for no fee.
 
 
Minneiska Water Ski Show Team
Watch the local water ski show team perform on Whitewater Lake from Memorial Day-Labor Day on Saturdays at 6:30 pm

 


    
Copyright 2010 MACCIT   Terms Of Use  Privacy Statement
Register  Login